CONTEMPLATIVE MOMENT #9,985,402


It’s a little late, 11:29p. It’s quiet, all except for the crickets. I’m violating a Vastu rule (shhh!) by having the laptop in the bedroom, but I want to be in bed and typing is so much faster than writing, especially for publishing on-line, so here I am.

People keep asking “Are you excited??” and I seem to have a hard time just saying “yes”. It’s not because I’m NOT excited, it’s just that maybe this “excitement” is of a different color than the usual. It’s the same with many other words that keep popping up in conversation with friends: “brave”, “challenging”, “scary”, “difficult”…  John Burroughs coined the phrase “Leap, and the net will appear.” Can one define that feeling just before the leap? Is it excitement? Terror? Resolve? Peace?  From one moment to the next, I observe the changes in the colors, textures, patterns of my environment, my emotions, my body sensations. And so, for the sake of sanity, my life has truly become a meditation on staying in the present moment. (Yoga, off the mat, my friends!) Our language can be so limiting, words so inadequate at times. I believe the labels we attach to emotions and experiences can potentially hinder our growth and progress. Check perspective; is something difficult because we EXPECT it to be so and label it as such, and perhaps keep us from living our life to it’s fullest? Or, can we shift that concept and trust we have the capacity to do whatever or go wherever we choose, knowing, in the end, no matter what, we will be OK?

It’s hard to project what life will “truly” be like, living in Costa Rica. But, then again, does any of us know what life will truly be like in the future? We can surmise based on past history, but who can really count on THAT? The only thing we CAN count on in life is change. So what the heck, may as well take the leap with both feet and meet that change full on! (I’m pretty sure we’re gonna be OK!)

And, OK, maybe I AM just a little excited… 😉

8 Responses to “CONTEMPLATIVE MOMENT #9,985,402”

  1. Dana layon Says:

    Oh Karen….this is a wonderful spill of emotions and so ON TARGET! I think that leap of faith feels like all those emotions rolled into one my friend.

    You are all those things AND excited!

    I am so happy for you and cannot wait to get down there and experience and help and be a part of your amazing spot on this planet.

    much love.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Love this! I’m excited for you and wish you could take me with you!

  3. CR108 Says:

    Dana, thank you!! I can’t wait for you to come, too, and for us to finally meet in person! Goddess bless the internet!

    Kathy, if I could fold you up and put you in my bag, I would surely take you with us!

  4. erica Says:

    Ah, yes. Poets and novelists have long tried to capture emotions into words and sometimes it just can’t be done because we are so much more than our words. I am filled with admiration for you…but then again that word doesn’t do it justice!

  5. Mary Says:

    Karen, what a wonderful post. You have such a way with words, such an incredible gift for being able to articulate your thoughts and feelings. I so admire you dear friend and I am excited for both you and Greg.

  6. Kate McKena Says:

    Karen…Love, love, love this post! I call this… a fabulous adventure!
    And… in the end, no matter what, we will be OK!!
    Hugs… Kate :o)

  7. CR108 Says:

    LIFE… it’s THE fabulous adventure!!!

  8. Celeste Says:

    A mentor once told me this about opening a new business:
    ” I know in my heart that if everything else failed I would be happy just washing dishes. When you are prepared to live with nothing, there is nothing to loose”.
    This in turn allows you to move forward into any unknown future with out fear and with out fear most anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

